My Favorite Chicken & Wild Rice Soup

My Favorite Chicken & Wild Rice SoupLike most people, the only thing that sounds appetizing when I am sick is chicken soup. This past week my husband and I got sick, the kind of sick that lingers for a week. During this week, we had 3 different soups, and I finally mastered my chicken and rice soup. I’ve probably made chicken and rice soup  over a dozen times, but every time it turns out… just alright. I’ve messed with the spices and herbs and the amount of rice numerous times. I’ve tried cooking the rice separately and in the soup, boiling the chicken in water and in chicken broth. With all my different attempts, I found that keeping it simple was the best.

My Favorite Chicken & Wild Rice Soup

MY FAVORITE CHICKEN & RICE SOUP | 3 BOWLS

|Ingredients|

1 chicken breast (shredded)
1/2 white onion, chopped
3 ribs of celery, sliced
2 carrots, sliced
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
1-2 pinches of red pepper flakes (depending on how spicy you’d like it)
1 bay leaf
1 sprig of rosemary
3/4 c. wild rice
1/2 tablespoon of olive oil
salt & pepper to taste.

In a pot bring water, salt, and a bay leaf to a boil. Add the chicken breast and boil for 15-20 minutes.

While the chicken is boiling, in a large pot, over medium heat, add half a tablespoon of olive oil. Once the oil is heated add the onions, celery, carrots, and garlic and sauté for about 3-5 minutes stirring every few minutes, until the veggies have cooked down a little and the onion and garlic are fragrant.

Next, I add one sprig of rosemary, a pinch or two of red pepper flakes, a bay leaf, and salt and pepper to taste. I sauté for another minute, stirring continuously. Then I add the chicken broth, bring to a boil.

At this point the chicken should be about ready to be shredded (I usually let my chicken cool a little on a cutting board before I shred it). Once the chicken is shredded, I add it and the wild rice to the boiling soup, cover, and simmer for 35 minutes.

Once the rice is finished cooking, I add more salt and pepper if needed and bring back to a boil for about 5 minutes. I like to top mine with some fresh cracked pepper and  serve with toasted bread.

My Favorite Chicken & Wild Rice Soup

Leave a comment